Art Wall2018-09-20T00:56:13+00:00


The Hunt Library Artwall features up to nine exhibits annually including solo and group shows.  It exists to showcase local professional and emerging artists living in the Northwest Connecticut community and further afield.  A portion of all art sales benefit the library.  For information, please inquire with the library staff.


The David M. Hunt Library in Falls Village will present Megan Berk’s exhibit of new work, Tim Paintings, beginning Saturday, September 22 with a reception from 4 to 6PM.  The exhibit, inspired by a New Testament painting by Rembrandt, will be on display on the Library’s art wall through Saturday, October 13.  For more information call the library at 860-824-7424 or visit  The artist’s work can be seen at

Megan Berk was born in Los Angeles and currently lives and works in Millerton, NY.  Ms. Berk’s work, which consists primarily of representational paintings on board and silk-screen prints, uses recognizable imagery to investigate personal narratives of desire and anxiety.  In Tim Paintings, the pivotal elements of this narrative are books.

The artist said about her work, “There are several definitions of authenticity. One is: ‘worthy of acceptance or belief as conforming to or based on fact.’ Another is: ‘true to one’s own personality, spirit, or character.’ The two ideas claw at each other. Just after the birth of my first child and just before the convulsive election of 2016, deep in the rabbit-hole of this conflict, I stumbled upon one of Rembrandt’s New Testament paintings from 1648. There is Lois, Timothy’s grandmother. Paul wrote of her ‘unfeigned faith,’ her authenticity. Rembrandt painted her devotion as stillness, scripture clutched in her sacred lap. Her gesture is ‘worthy of acceptance or belief,’ halfway between giving and guarding. She is passing down her knowledge while also protecting it. These paintings began as a contemplation of that gesture.”

Megan Berk received her MFA from Pratt Institute and has exhibited her work at the International Print Center New York, the Re Institute, Recession Art, Long Island University’s Salena Gallery, Silas Marder Gallery, Bowman/Bloom Gallery, Scope Art Fair and the German House of the German Consulate.  She did two residencies at Wassaic Project in Wassaic, NY in 2012 and 2013.  Megan Berk’s art can be seen at



October 20 through November 24, 2018

Reception: Saturday, October 20, 4-6PM

Coinciding with the 100th anniversary of the ending of World War I, the David M. Hunt Library in Falls Village (CT) will present in October and November the exhibit, By Sea By Air By Land: Military Art and Artifacts 100 Years after the Great War. Featuring maritime, aviation, and figurative artwork in painting, drawing, and photography by artists including Robert Andrew Parker, Pamela Berkeley, Robert Cronin, David Fertig and Lazlo Gyorsok, the exhibit also includes items from the Falls Village-Canaan Historical Society and from private collections. A reception with refreshments will take place at the Library on Saturday, October 20 from 4 to 6PM. The exhibit will remain on display through Saturday, November 24. David M. Hunt Library, 63 Main Street, Falls Village, CT, 06031. For more information call the Library at 860-824-7424 or visit Hours: Tues 10-5, Thurs 10-5, Fri 3-7, Sat 10-1, Sun 11-1.

Not limited to the WWI era, the exhibit encompasses military culture, history and iconography from many countries and over several centuries from Pamela Berkeley’s portrait of the mythic knight Parsifal to an installation of Robert Andrew Parker’s wooden airplane models and a US Cavalry uniform that saw service in the “Punitive Expedition” to capture Poncho Villa during the Mexican Revolution and in three major campaigns in WWI France.  A maritime painting by Norman Wilkinson, the British artist who invented the technique of dazzle camouflage that helped improve the safety of ships against attack in WWI, is also featured.

The painter Dave Fertig is known for his focus on the age of Napoleon and Admiral Nelson through the lens of the New York School, while Lazlo Gyorsok’s photography captures historical reenactors’ enthusiasm for the American Revolution and the Civil War.  Ken Musselman’s painting, Mighty Mo, depicts sailors readying a 16-inch gun on the USS Missouri, while Robert Cronin shows the tenderness of a lonely couple on the deck of the RMS Lusitania.  Paintings by Geoffrey Parker and Mary Jeys show ships in states of distress, and Emily Rutgers Fuller provides a landscape of a watch tower used to spot submarines off the coast of Maine during WWII.  A woven rug of a soldier by Hendon will also be in the exhibit, along with works by other artists including Sergei Fedorjaczenko, Lillian Lovitt, and Martijn Spijkers.  Also included are items from private collections and the Falls Village-Canaan Historical Society including military uniform, trench art, toy soldiers and French Foreign Legion souvenirs.

Garth Kobal, the curator of the exhibit and one of its artists, was inspired to assemble By Sea By Air By Land through family research into Elzie Dillard Rigdon’s WWI service in the famous “All-American”  82nd Division of the 328th Infantry.  Pvt. Rigdon, then 24 years old from Alma, Georgia and the father of Mr. Kobal’s husband, was wounded by shrapnel and gas on October 8, 1918 during the decisive Meuse-Argonne campaign in France that helped bring the Great War to its conclusion. His injuries, earning him a Purple Heart, took place on the same day and about two miles from where Sergeant Alvin York, also in the 82nd Division, famously captured 132 German soldiers.

A family member located Pvt. Rigdon’s embarkation papers, which led to the discovery of a photograph of the Walmer Castle, a dazzle camouflage-painted British mail ship that transported the American Expeditionary Forces from Hoboken to Liverpool.  It was this image, Kobal said, “that brought E.D. and the whole conflict to life for me.  My husband’s dad—a young green farmer who I never met—sailed to WWI in a painting so-to-speak, experienced incredible hardship and injury, and was a participant in this brutal and devastating world-changing event.  I immediately sent the photo of the Walmer Castle to Robert Andrew Parker in Cornwall (CT) and he jumped on it, painting a pair of watercolors that are the starting point of this exhibit. Parker was integral to making the exhibit what it is as many of the artifacts featured in the exhibit are from his private collection.  Add to that his wooden airplane models, paintings, and etchings and you have an exhibit largely built around Parker’s work, one of our greatest living artists with a truly historical and twentieth-century perspective.”